Time Flies

I remember standing on the deck with my dad, the day before I got married. My dad said:

“Where does time go? It seems like you were born yesterday… I blinked and you are getting married. How did the time go so fast?”

I kept thinking “What does that even mean?” Seriously, how can time go fast or slow? Doesn’t time just move at the same speed for everyone, all the time? Isn’t time one of those things that we can count on never changing? Isn’t it a constant?

Now skip 28 years, to 2013. I am close to the age my dad was that day, and Mallory is 23 (the age I was that day). And all I can think is…

“Where did the time go?”

Life is funny that way. When we going through a “typical” day, we let our mind drift and get easily bored. Suddenly the day is done and we don’t know where it went. Days, weeks, months, and even years fly by. When we are young we can’t wait to grow up. We wish for holidays, summer, and vacations to get here. We think that life will be better when we have more or weigh less. Life will be better when….

So today, take time to smell the roses. Slow down and enjoy life and appreciate what is right in front of you instead of hoping or wishing for something more. Thank God for the beautiful things that have become “common”.

Dear God,
Some days fly by without us even paying attention to what we are doing. We go through the day on auto-pilot and forget to thank you for what you have done for us. So today, I am thankful for the little things that are always there and I move to fast to appreciate them. Please help me to be grateful for the common and uneventful days.
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

