Thankful Thursday

It is ironic that Thursdays are my day to be thankful.  I say that because we lost Ryan on a Thursday.  And every Thursday at around 2:19 pm, I stop and think about Ryan.  I think about Feb. 19, 2009 at 2:19 pm, when we held his hand and listened as he took his final breath.  I think about him making his journey to Heaven.  I think about how much I miss him.

Not to say that those are the only times I think about Ryan.  I think about him everyday, several times a day.  I think about how lucky we were to have 16 years with him, and I thank God for that time. I think about all those time we laughed. All those times our family was together and just enjoyed each others company. I think about the good times.

History shows that when a family goes through what our family went through, life usually goes one of 2 ways: they either get very angry, blame God and walk away from Him; or they turn to God to carry them through, to help ease the pain and bring people into their life to help.  I had days I was very angry with God, but I never left Him. And more importantly, He never left me. He was always there, even when I fought Him. He was like a parent who knew better than I what I needed and how to get me through.

I hope that you find something to be thankful for today. And, I hope you know that God is with you during the good and bad times of your life. I hope today is one of the good days.

Dear God,
Thank you for today. Thank for you always being there, for being here with us. Thank you for your love.
In the name of your Son,
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

