Another Thankful Thursday

If you know me or have read my blog, you know that I like flowers.  I love flowers.  In fact, I love flowers so much that we have 6 perennial gardens in our yard.  Every summer I spend a great deal of time tending to them.  I plant, weed, water, weed, mulch, weed, deadhead, weed…  You get the idea.  It is a lot of work, but I always enjoy the results.

This year has been like every other one.  Lots of time in the garden, until yesterday.  Yesterday morning I woke up with a very sore back.  So I rested.  I laid in bed with a heating pad and hoped that today would be better, and I thought about the muscles that I take for granted.

We have about 640 muscles.   370 or so of those are “involuntary”, they work without us thinking about it.   They are what keep us breathing, digesting, living.  It is amazing that our body does all this work without us telling it what to do.   We go about our day and take for granted that our body will continue to do what it is supposed to do.

The rest of the muscles are the ones that we “control”.  The ones we use to walk, eat, talk, lift, carry and do our gardening.  These are the ones that I have been abusing and the ones that are now telling me it is time to take a break…

God gave us an amazing gift when he created us.  We are all different and none of us are perfect.  The many things I take for granted are the same things that some don’t have at all.  So instead of complaining about my sore back, instead of wishing it didn’t hurt, I am thanking God for the pain.  If I couldn’t do the work, I wouldn’t have the pain.  If I couldn’t use those muscles, they wouldn’t hurt.  If I wasn’t alive, I wouldn’t feel it.

Today Father, I thank you for giving us the gift of our incredible bodies.  I thank you for creating us perfect, in what ever form that is.  You give us so many gifts, abilities and talents.  Teach us to use what you have us to honor you.  Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

