Change is never easy

What is a habit?

Humans are creatures of habit. We fall into a pattern of behavior, either bad or good, and find it hard to change. I have read that if you practice something for 21 days, it becomes habit. It takes longer to break a bad habit, some say 45 days. The point is, we find it easier to do things the way we’ve always done them. Change never comes easy. We have to want the change and sometimes we really have to work at it.

Our church is in the beginning stages of some major renovations. This weekend we moved worship from the sanctuary to fellowship hall, where we will continue to worship until late this year. It felt weird. Worship was very similar to every weekend, just in a slightly different location. It only moved a few feet. But it changed my perspective. I was forced to sit in a different seat and it was strange.

My goal with this blog was to make praying more of a habit. Instead of only praying when I think to do it, or when I remember to “fit it in”, I am starting my day with God. This blog is making me accountable. And by sending it out into the world, it is giving me a different perspective and helping to look at my life from a little different location.

I hope you had a good weekend. Now that it is Monday, what change will you make for God this week?

Gracious God,
Thank you for your love, guidance and patience. Thank you for listening when we call out to you and forgiving us when we forget. Please be with all those that are suffering and so in need of your care, may they feel your peace.
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

