Pennies from Heaven

Do you pick up a penny when you see it on the ground? Or do you step over it, thinking “It is only a penny”? Do you see it and think “Find a penny, pick it up. All day long you’ll have good luck”? Or do you leave it if it is tail-side up?

Did you know that the government estimates it costs 2.41 cents to manufacture each penny. Suddenly that penny on the ground looks a little more appealing…

I heard a story that there was a very rich man that always picked up a penny when he saw it on the ground. Others wondered why, with his wealth, he would bother with a penny. His response had to do with the writing on the coin. “In God we Trust”

He said: “Whenever I find a coin I see that inscription.  It is written on every single United States coin, but we never seem to notice it!  God drops a message right in front of me telling me to trust Him.  Who am I to pass it by?  When I see a coin, I pray, I stop to see if my trust IS in God at that moment.  I pick the coin up as a response to God; that I do trust in Him.  For a short time, at least, I cherish it as if it were gold.  I think it is God’s way of starting a conversation with me  God is patient and pennies are plentiful!”

Today, I hope you find a penny. I hope that you pick it up, and remember to trust in God.

Dear God,                                                                                                                                Please forgive me.  Please forgive me when I trust more in myself than in you.  Forgive me when I think that I know best and when I turn my back on you.  Help me to listen for your guidance.  Help me to live a life that would serve you better.                              In your holy name,                                                                                                                  Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

