Thankful Thursday

Gratitude can be very difficult. 

Whether it is just a bad day, or a troublesome season in our life, it can be very hard to find something to be grateful for.  Several years ago, during a very difficult time, I challenged myself to find something everyday that I am thankful for.  I wrote down a word or phrase and put it a can.  I could not duplicate a previous entry.  Everyday I found one thing that brought me joy.  The first few  days I listed the big things in my life: Kirby, Mallory, Ryan, my family and my friends…  Later it was simple things like a flower or a cold glass of water.  But, everyday was something new.  When I had an especially bad day, I would open the can and read through some of the entries.  As the can got full I was reminded of how full my life is.  I was reminded to find joy in even little things.

That was several years ago, when dark clouds hung over most of my days.  Fortunately, those types of days are fewer and farther between now.  I find happiness much easier these days.  But once a week I make a point of sharing my gratitude to God for the all that I am thankful for.

Dear God,

Thank you for this day.  Thank you for my family, my friends, and the beauty of the world around me.  Thank you for all that you have given me through the years.  I thank you for all the people and things in my life that are so easy to look at and be grateful for, and for those small daily reminders of your presence in my life.

In the name of your Son.  Amen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Thankful Thursday

  1. Connie says:

    You are one of God’s beautiful children!

  2. Deb Mulhern says:

    Wow, you have a gift for writing and sharing your thoughts. You can be my new, daily on-line devotion!

  3. Kirby says:

    Ditto what Connie said! I love you! 🙂

  4. Karen Alt says:

    Love what you wrote. I just hung up from talking to Jamie. She is trying to finish a 22 page paper, a 12 page paper, and then study for her last exam with graduation around the corner. I know she can finish every assignment but and am so grateful for all her accomplishments. Our faith remains strong.

Leave a Reply

